If you love to knit…


My sweater-in-progress!

During the past 2 years, I’ve been discovering the fun of knitting. I’d been afraid to venture past the “easy” project level, but have finally ventured into “intermediate” territory! This Christmas, my mother-in-law gave me some knitting needles which I needed to make a certain sweater pattern. The pattern is J21.0005-10K–the silver cardigan–in the Coats and Clark Crochet & Knit Easy Style book. For yarn I’m using Red Heart “Classic” in Light Sage Green.

Do you love to knit? There are some wonderful online sites and communities for knitters of all skill levels. Here are some of my favorites:

Yarn Brands:

Coats and Clark Patterns, yarns and helpful links.

Red Heart An affordable yarn that’s celebrating its 75th year. Check out Stitch Nation, an affordable 100% natural yarn by Debbie Stoller.

Lion Brand Yarn Beautiful colors and textures of yarn. The website offers tutorials, community and a  page which connects you to charity projects.

Communities:

Ravelry My favorite knitting site…you need to register to get into this site but what a treasure! A community which helps you learn, organize your projects and even spin your own yarn. There’s even Ravelry Wiki, a community-edited guide!

Knitting Daily One of Interweave’s communities…check out Interweave Knits magazine, too!

For years, friends and family valiantly tried to teach me how to knit. I bought many, many booklets and magazines, but couldn’t follow the instructions. Know what? I found a knitting kit for kids, and finally was able to learn! It’s called Knitting: Learn to Knit Six Great Projects by Klutz. Been knitting ever since. Hope you’ll give it a try…have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “If you love to knit…

  1. Great Judith, I signed up with Ravelry.

    I loved what you said, ‘For years, friends and family valiantly tried to teach me how to knit’.

    LOL :)

    I remember as a youngster, trying to teach my sister, how to sew, knit or crochet as I loved doing all three.

    It was an absolute nightmare. She was musical rather than creative, but being a year younger than me, wanted to copy everything I did. She just could not get the hang of any of them, and simply would not give up. My Mum would always ‘insist’ that I had more patience to teach my sister (Bless her!). Invariably, my sister would bicker and we would tussle, until she would admit defeat…until the next time!!

    We often have fun reminiscing about it.

Leave a Reply

