Book Review: Martyr’s Fire by Sigmund Brouwer


martyrsfire

In the third book of the  “Merlin’s Immortals” series, Sigmund Brouwer weaves a tale of intrigue and adventure in Martyr’s Fire. The book begins with a takeover of Magnus Castle by a group of men called the High Priests of the Holy Grail. Thomas must pose as a beggar to escape from his castle and begin a quest for an ancient secret that dates back to Merlin, King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. As Katherine and Hawkwood watch over Thomas and his journey to the Holy Land, he uncovers an ancient conflict.

Although I did not read the first two books in the series, I enjoyed the suspense and  mystery of Martyr’s Fire. I think I would have caught on to the story faster, however, if I had read the other two books. My only criticism is the fact that it takes a while to get up to speed if you haven’t read the previous books.

Once I was familiar with the characters and background story, I thoroughly enjoyed this read.  Martyr’s Fire is recommended for readers age 12 to 17, and I recommend it for readers of all ages who want to get lost in a great tale.

To order Martyr’s Fire or learn more about the series and the author, visit this page or  Sigmund Brower’s website.

FTC disclaimer: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review. All of the opinions in this review are my own; I was not required to give a positive review.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Martyr’s Fire by Sigmund Brouwer

Leave a Reply

