“I’ll Be in the Garden”


So nice to be able to say “I’ll be in the garden.”  The irises have bloomed and faded, and it’s time to do some deadheading and cutting back. I take out a bag and a pair of pruning shears, and step onto our patio and yard.

DSC_1426-3

 

DSC_1415-2

The Idaho sunshine is more direct now, and it isn’t long before some beads of sweat appear on my forehead. I can’t believe I’ve been wracking my brain trying to think of something to do outdoors, to break out of the exercise doldrums. I’m so used to living in an apartment on a major highway, I have forgotten how much I love a back yard.

“But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
    and on his law he meditates day and night.

He is like a tree
    planted by streams of water
that yields its fruit in its season,
    and its leaf does not wither.
In all that he does, he prospers.”

Psalm 1: 2-3

I see many things I would have overlooked on any other day. As I clip back spent stems, I have a closer look at the ground covers that wind their way through the flower beds.

DSC_1422-2

DSC_1425-2

I look up and see the plums on our tree, and the blossoms on the Japanese honeysuckle planted by the previous owner.

DSC_1416-2

 

DSC_1421-2

I fill the bag with plant debris and head back to the patio, where a new bunch of daisies are blooming.

“The wilderness and the solitary place shall be glad for them;

and the desert shall rejoice, and blossom as the rose.”

Isaiah 35:1

DSC_1419-2

I shrug and wipe the sweat from my forehead with my arm, and gather some of the roses to take indoors.

DSC_1414-2

 

DSC_1427-2

 

“You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace;

the mountains and hills will burst into song before you,

and all the trees of the field will clap their hands.”

Isaiah 55:12

If it’s a Saturday afternoon, I’ll be in the garden!

 

8 thoughts on ““I’ll Be in the Garden”

  1. Nice! It looks like you have a beautiful yard. Lovely photos also : ). (I am a terrible gardener, but I was out yesterday also replanting my herbs yesterday, I think this year they might take!). The bunnies came out and were helping chew out some of the weeds, great to watch.

Leave a Reply

