Sewing: Where to buy Fabric and Patterns Online


I’m mostly a knitter and crocheter, but lately I’ve been wanting to sew. Some friends and I were recently lamenting the lack of fabric stores in our areas. It’s really too bad that it’s so difficult to find a local shop where we can purchase remnants–or even needles and thread! My grandmother worked in a remnant store for years, and I took for granted the little shop where sewers and knitters could find fabric and notions–and simply visit with each other. A new locally owned fabric or yarn shop will be a welcome sight indeed–but in the meantime, let me tell you about some great online fabric and pattern sources.

Our cat Lucky helps me shop for fabric online

OnlineFabricStore.net: This site carries fabrics from cotton broadcloth to satin charmeuse. Discount and clearance selections are available. Besides apparel fabric, this store carries fabrics for lawn and garden use, upholstery,quilting, and other uses. Explanations ad descriptions are included with each fabric type–and you can get a price quote before you order your fabric by the yard.

Fabric.com: Be sure to check out the “Just Arrived”, “Clearance”, and “Eco-Friendly and Organic”  sections here. You can order swatches for many of the fabrics on this site. One of the site’s newest features is its yarn selection, with brands ranging from Lion Brand to Berrocco. Find sewing machines and free patterns, too!

Find patterns here:

Simplicity.com Great site for experienced and beginner sewers alike. Everything you’ll need–whether you sew, knit, or crochet–from fabric to notions to tutorial videos. Always a good place to visit.

VoguePatterns.McCall.com The “Very Easy Vogue” patterns are truly very easy, yet every bit as stylish as you would expect fromVogue.

BurdaStyle.com An open-source sewing community, this site offers downloadable patterns–some free, some to purchase. Includes tutorials and forums. Great European styles.

As you can see, you can find your fabrics, patterns, and notions–and even community–on these and other sites. I still wait for the return of small, local shops, but I’m glad I can still shop and “visit” online! Have fun!

5 thoughts on “Sewing: Where to buy Fabric and Patterns Online

  1. Julie, I almost cried when both Joanne’s fabric stores in Scranton and Dickson City (the closest places to me–40 minutes away) Closed down forever. Then I heard that most Walmart stores would stop stocking fabric and I almost had a heart attack! Luckily, one of the 3 Walmarts nearest to me was able to keep their fabric department. But how long will that last? I’ll need to know about these online places!

  2. Thank you both for visiting my blog. John, I am always blessed by your support. And Glory, I know what you mean. It’s very frustrating, but at least we can buy online–and I have a feeling we’ll see neighborhood stores again.

  3. Judith, thank you so much for tracking down these links and sharing. I have joined one of the communities.

    It is such a joy to find so much online in one place.

    Last week while I was completing a school run, I drove past a tiny haberdashery shop in an area which I travel through every week. I was quite surprised, as I did not know where it had ‘popped’ up from, or how long it had been there!

    I have not had the chance to visit it yet, but hope it will still be there when I return to the area.

    Blessings, Carole

Leave a Reply

