No Need to Lose Heart


Psalm 27:6 “And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me; therefore I will offer sacrifices of joy in His tabernacle; I will sing, yes, I will sing praises to the Lord.”

A simple angle of sunlight...recognize the beauty right in front of you!

Celebrations can take place in the most unexpected circumstances. The day I signed the lease to live in an apartment with my new husband, a time of extreme hardship ended for me. I had been homeless off and on for a couple of years, and had lived–and later worked–in a faith-based shelter for women and children. Later, my mother, who had been homeless right along with me, joined my husband and I in our home. Of course, we celebrated our new status as a tenant in our apartment, but I realized that there had been reasons to celebrate all along.

How can anyone survive the cold nights and contemptuous stares–and worst of all, the invisibility–with a mind and heart still intact? How did I return to life after a suicidal day in the emergency room?  The best answer lies in Psalm 27:13-14 — “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the Lord.”

God is present right now, no matter where I am, no matter where you are. We are never abandoned. As I lived and worked at the women’s shelter, of course we cried. We felt betrayed, frightened, and bitter at times. But there was also much laughter, and even singing. Deep friendships developed–the closest friendships of my life. In His timing, God strengthened me and led me to a new life of ministry.  I had never expected my life to take this turn, but I celebrate the blessings which grew out of this trial.

Join us at  “Talk Back” at Women of Faith.com.

Leave a Reply

