Natural Remedies: Mesquite


In South Central Texas, weeks before the official start of spring, leaves began to emerge  on the mesquite trees (Prosopis glandulosa var. glandulosa). Here in Texas brush country, this small tree is a ubiquitous presence in parks, yards, and along roadsides. Its cream-colored flower spikes grow up to 3 inches long, and its pods remain closed even after ripening. But did you know that this legume is a traditional medicinal plant?

Mesquite tree leaves, flowers, pods, and bark have medicinal properties

Here are some of the traditional uses for mesquite leaves, flowers, pods, and barks…watch those thorns!

Digestive remedy–Prepare a tea from the powdered leaves or pods for an astringent, antibacterial ulcer remedy. Good for intestinal upset as well.

Disinfectant wash–Prepare a decoction from any part of the tree. Strain and cool the decoction and use as an eye wash as needed.

Soothe sore throats–A mucilaginous gum oozes from wounds or scars in the tree bark. Collect the gum, rinse it, and dissolve it in warm water. One or 2 teaspoons of this mixture every hour as needed.

Who knew? So many plants, trees, and herbs that we take for granted have hidden benefits. Generations ago, these gifts were received and put to good use. Let’s continue to learn and share this priceless knowledge.

Blessings to you!

4 thoughts on “Natural Remedies: Mesquite

  1. This is so cool. Have you ever used the tree for any of this? It seems like it would hard to make. It’s too bad that commercial medicine has taken over. I’m not going to say that it’s all bad, because Claritin and Sudafed are dreams when you can’t breathe, but I sometimes wonder if the herbal methods are healthier for you. There seems to be this really huge push for organic ways of doing things these days. It’s tough to decide whether or not natural remedies are best versus modern medicine, or if they’re both just as good as each other. I, personally, think that both are necessary for today’s age. I guess it just depends on your preference.

  2. Thanks for reading and commenting, Lauren. I have never used mesquite, mostly because it’s very rarely found in stores, and I haven’t lived in this area very long. Maybe I’ll try preparing my own sometime. I prefer natural remedies and organics,, but I don’t take an all-or-nothing approach. I think that all health systems have something to offer. There are some wonderful homeopathic allergy meds, but I always have a packet of Claritin on hand, lol! Thanks again for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Knowing about the plants that grow in your local area and how to use them to treat various ailments is really useful. I’ve done some foraging for food in my local area, but my experience is limiting. I only pick plants to eat that I’m absolutely sure about. Most of these plants have medicinal uses too. I really like using organic and home remedies whenever I can.

    • That’s an important point, Heather–to be absolutely sure of a wild plant before you use it. Plants are a treasure trove of health benefits, but some can be extremely poisonous. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog!

Leave a Reply

