Thankful Thursday: A Bright Moment


Thanks to Lynn at Spiritually Unequal Marriage for hosting Thankful Thursday this month.

“But those who wait on the Lord

Shall renew their strength;

They shall mount up with wings like eagles.

They shall run and not be weary.

They shall walk and not be faint” Isaiah 40:31 (NKJV)

After a frustrating week, I went for a walk yesterday afternoon. What a week it had been–among many other bureaucratic frustrations, our internet carrier kept forgetting that we’d paid our bill, I was charged a late fee for a library book that I returned on time 4 months ago–you get the picture. By mid-afternoon yesterday, I was tearing my hair out.

My husband pointed out that it was a beautiful afternoon. My mom and I decided to go for a walk. It was a rare kind of day in south Texas–warm but not humid. We usually walk early in the morning, but I needed to use up some of my extra energy! As we strolled down the street, I noticed that at this later hour, the sun highlighted brighter colors, and the birds were busier and more talkative. Just around the corner, a twirling lawn sprinkler was spraying droplets of water over the sidewalk. Oh well, we decided–it’s hot out, might as well walk right through the sprinkles.

The sun shone through the spray as it swirled in our direction. We held our breath as the cold droplets veered in our direction. Tiny prisms formed, showering us with pink, blue, and yellow jewels. A black butterfly, streaked with iridescent blue, glided through the refreshing mist and followed us down the street. The loveliness of the moment gave me the brief vacation I needed. We decided we should walk in the afternoon more often.

I am thankful for this reminder God renews us over and over. I can’t say that my worries permanently disappeared, but when I think of that bright moment, I remember the little miracles that wait for us every day.

8 Replies to “Thankful Thursday: A Bright Moment”

  1. What a blessing this walk was! I am envious. I love it when serendipity like this happens in life. Thank you for stopping by & commenting on my blog. I see you like to write too. I have heard of wordless wednesday.

  2. Judy.

    The loveliness of the moment gave me the brief vacation I needed.

    Oh Girl, wish I had been there with you. Delightful. Hugs and see you again next week. Lynn

Leave a Reply

