100 Word Challenge: A Few More Steps


Join us at Velvet Verbosity for 100-Word Challenge…this week’s prompt is DISTANCE.

At night, pebbles in the hard ground stick into my back in my makeshift bed behind the tree. Other shadows–my neighbors—set up housekeeping in the tiny Flagstaff, Arizona park. Thirty days have passed since I left my overdrawn life in New Hampshire (I now measure the distance in weeks, not miles).

The Continental Railroad track is merely yards away. The 7:20 train rumbles in the distance.

I’m so tired of the distance between tonight and the memories I carry in my backpack.

The rumbling hurts my head. Just a few more steps and I’ll close the gap forever.

11 Replies to “100 Word Challenge: A Few More Steps”

Leave a Reply

