Thankful Thursday: A Dry and Thirsty Land


Thank you Lynn, for hosting Thankful Thursday this month at Spiritually Unequal Marriage.Please join us!

“O God, You are my God; early will I seek You; my soul thirsts for You; my flesh longs for you in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water. So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, to see Your power and Your glory..” Psalm 63:1-2 (NKJV)

“Because You have been my help, therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice. My soul follows close behind You; Your right hand upholds me.” Psalm 63:7-8 (NKJV)

This week, many of us are facing uncertainty, loss, natural disasters and emergencies. Alabama suffered especially heavy devastation from a tornado yesterday. Here at home, I checked the Texas wildfire map online this morning, and noticed that the red dots are getting closer to our town. Meanwhile, our state is in the midst of a severe drought.

But there are many reasons for gratitude! First, I am thankful that my family and friends are safe and still in our homes. I am thankful that in the midst of fires, storms, and any other furies that we face, God upholds us. On this Thankful Thursday, I thank God that He will strengthen all who are affected by these fires and storms. I especially thank the Lord for this community of friends who lift up each other with prayer and gratitude.

5 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: A Dry and Thirsty Land

  1. The beauty of the natural world, God’s creation in contrast with the violent storms– its hard to put into context.

    My heart goes out to you with the wildfires nearby. I do know from experience that God walks with us in the hard times–He will never leave us.

    Peace and blessings this day.

  2. It is a test of real faith to be thankful in the midst of life’s storms, literally and figuratively. You are certainly exhibiting a deep faith today. Blessingst to you, Judith.

  3. Hi Judith

    Thanks for leaving your lovely comment on my blog today. I will be praying for your family’s safety and those around you. So many natural disasters.. who can understand the ways of God? All we can do is cling to Him and trust in Him.

    God bless!

  4. This is a blessing. We all have so much to be thankful for, how quickly we forget when we are not the ones going through a natural disaster. I, too, am so thankful for community. What a blessing.

Leave a Reply

