Book Review: Secrets of the Vine for Women


When I think I’ve thoroughly studied a favorite Scripture passage, God shows me that there is always more to learn. Reading familiar Bible passages through fresh eyes is a valuable way to gain insight into God’s word. Darlene Wilkinson’s book Secrets of the Vine for Women: Breaking Through to Abundance is a refreshing reflection on John 15.

In John 15, Jesus states to His disciples, “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser.” On the night before He was crucified, Jesus used this analogy to teach His friends about the need to abide in Him. In her book, Wilkinson interweaves the Scripture study  with the story of a woman and her father, who patiently cares for his vineyard. Using this illustration, Wilkinson walks alongside the reader through difficult pruning processes which lead to spiritual abundance.

Women will identify with Wilkinson’s teachings on busy-ness and the desire to “fix” people and situations. She explains how — although the process can be painful and bewildering — God’s pruning will allow a woman to grow and flourish. Study questions are included at the end of the book.

Although Secrets of the Vine for Women addresses themes which I have encountered in other Bible studies, I gained a new perspective on the truths in John 15. This book will especially help new Christian women to understand the loving, corrective guidance from God. I highly recommend this book to all women who need encouragement in their journey.

FTC Disclosure: I received my copy of Secrets of the Vine for Women free of charge from Waterbrook Multnomah and Blogging for Books.com, in exchange for writing this review. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated in this review are my own.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Secrets of the Vine for Women

Leave a Reply

