In Other Words: Pay Attention


“ Pay attention, heavens, and I will speak;
listen, earth, to the words of my mouth.
Let my teaching fall like rain and my word settle like dew,
like gentle rain on new grass
and showers on tender plants.
For I will proclaim the LORD’s name.
Declare the greatness of our God! ”
~ Deuteronomy 32:1-3 (HCSB)

As a poet and writer, I must learn to pay attention — not only to possible writing topics, but to every word and comma. Does each word serve to move the story forward? Would the character really have worn that color? Does my poem include only essential words?

This act of paying attention becomes a habit which enables a writer to savor seemingly unremarkable moments. What color are the tops of the clouds? Where was I the first time I heard this song? In my prayer life, I pay attention to the fine, subtle reminders of God’s love and wisdom. Like gentle rain, His teachings nourish my life…if I pay attention. Those unnamed lawn flowers which emerge time after time, even after several mowings, illustrate God’s insistence on life. That shadowy figure in the park who gathers his sleeping bag each morning reminds me of God’s love.The difficult neighbor who insists on pointing out all my weaknesses reminds me of God’s mercy

I pause during my quiet times with the Lord, to soak up the morning dew of these lessons…to listen hopefully for His loving corrections and teachings. I pray that the living word will pour into my heart the desire to proclaim God’s mercy, grace and glory…gently in word and deed.

Thanks to Patricia of Typing One-Handed for hosting In Other Words, and to Loni at Writing Canvas for providing the weekly quote. Won’t you join us?

9 Replies to “In Other Words: Pay Attention”

  1. Your words are so true, Judith. As artists of the written word or the actual canvass, it is our job to see life from a little different perspective, a different angle, and present our findings to the world – share God’s beauty. Your posts and poems certainly do that.

Leave a Reply

