If I Could Have One Thing…


The 6 Weeks of Bliss Challenge is in its third week,and we are sharing health and wellness wish lists! My wish can come true this spring and summer: I would love to have a container herb garden on our new apartment terrace this year. I moved from New Hampshire to Texas a few years ago, and I still haven’t gotten used to the growing seasons here in the South! Last year, my husband bought me a colorful ceramic flower pot, and I’d love to collect more for my terrace garden.

 

Thyme is a culinary herb that has healing properties.

 

My favorite herbs are the aromatic culinary herbs, such as rosemary, oregano, thyme and basil. The leaves make delicious teas and infused vinegars; I may even try making some soothing skin lotions or lip balms. Generations of wise women — including my mother and grandmother — inspire me with their knowledge of herbal remedies. I hope to pass on these gifts from my own garden.

 

Basil and rosemary -- familiar flavorings in Mediterranean cooking -- can soothe the skin or calm a cough.

 

Be well and be blessed!

6 thoughts on “If I Could Have One Thing…

  1. Hi from #6WeeksofBliss! Your wish list sounds like somewhat of a resolution too! To keep the terrace garden abundant and flourishing! Planting a seed and watching it grow is a a gift to the world!

  2. This sounds like a great wish to me! We have gotten some herbs from our CSA the last few summers, and I have really enjoyed cooking from my little herb garden. It sounds like you will have many uses for them.

  3. You are not going to believe this we are moving from Pa. to Texas this summer , we are buying a small ranch. I will have my herb garden too. Best wishes for the New Year and keep adding those herbs.I am a grandmom of 5 and greatgrandmom of 3, and pass my herb garding on to them. Believe it or not my grandsons are more interested in garding then my granddaughter.

Leave a Reply

