Book Review: I Am Second, by Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender


 

Description: Our personal testimonies can change the lives of people we’ve never even met. In I Am Second, Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender have compiled the personal stories of people from many backgrounds and walks of life. In this book, rock stars, athletes, pastors and others describe how God transformed their lives after they hit bottom. These testimonies include struggles with addictions, injuries, illness and other trials. All of the stories have one thing in common: renewal and healing after Christ became first in each person’s life. I Am Second refers to the realization that God has a purpose for each of us, and that we must place our personal agendas second to His plan for our lives.

Discussion: The honest, transparent stories in I Am Second will inspire new Christians as well as those who are contemplating becoming Christian. For longtime Christians, the book is an excellent reminder that God loves us where we are right now: we need not become perfect before we accept Christ into our hearts. Each testimony illustrates God’s presence in our lives, even when we feel disappointed, frustrated, bitter or abandoned. As one woman, Karen Green, stated when describing her struggle with drug addiction, “I was so tired of life.” I recommend this book, which will inspire readers to relinquish personal agendas, and embrace the life God has for each of us.

FTC Disclosure: I received this copy of I Am Second free of charge from Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze, in exchange for a written review. I was not required to write a positive review; all opinions stated in this review are my own.

 

4 Replies to “Book Review: I Am Second, by Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender”

  1. This sounds as a must read for myself as I struggle from day to day placing Christ first with my everyday decision making and disappointments. I fail miserably and feel this is as good a place as any and feel based on your review, a humbled response I might add, “I Am Second,” is a great book to read! Thank you for sharing this review.

  2. I wanted to say thanks for reviewing my book, I am Second: Real Stories. Changing Lives. I really appreciate your kind review. I also wanted to let you know that I have another book coming out on December 9 called Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First. The book contains 365 daily readings and prayers meant to inspire people to make Jesus First. I am organizing a Week-of-Second Blogging Campaign for bloggers like yourself. Please email at launch@iamsecond.com if you are interested in receiving a free e-version of the book and joining in the campaign.

    Doug Bender

    1. Thank you so much for commenting, Doug! I Am Second made a great impression on me, and I wanted other people to know about the book. Congratulations on your new book release…the upcoming blogging campaign sounds like a great idea!

Leave a Reply

