One Lousy Push-Up


Since my last post, I’ve been busy patting myself on the back for joining a gym and working out at home, too. Last night, in my continuing quest for fitness, I worked at home with free weights and added a set to my core exercises: abdominal crunches and the dreaded “plank”. I realized after reading an article about core strengthening that I had forgotten all about the queen of core exercises — push-ups.

“Well, why not add push-ups to my routine?” I thought. I like to research the latest findings on health and wellness, and I regularly use the elliptical machine and other equipment — but I haven’t managed to do one lousy push-up?

Well, that’s exactly what I did last night: one push-up that was lousy.

You see, even a simple exercise that we did as kids won’t work without the right form. Strength training in particular must be done correctly to prevent injury to muscles, joints and nerves. After my unsuccessful attempt at push-ups, I will start with “incline (standing) push-ups” against the kitchen counter, making sure that my hands are a bit farther apart than my shoulders and that my body stays in a straight line.

Home Weight Training for Women has some helpful videos and tips on push-ups.

And while we’re talking at it, don’t forget the benefits of rest. We are careful to breathe correctly during resistance training, but relaxation breaths are the equally important flip side of the coin. If you need a reason for getting out into the fresh air, relax and check out this article on breathing at Creation Health.

Before we know it, it’ll be time to move on to proper push-ups!

One Reply to “One Lousy Push-Up”

  1. I love this post! I am lucky these days to even desire to do one lousy pushup. Your blog is a clear manifestation as to what diligence will do for you, especially in staying fit. I just wanted to let you know how proud I am of you! You are my HEROINE! Keep up the great work and this beautiful blog.

Leave a Reply

