Book Review: The Fourth Fisherman by Joe Kissack


Image

A person does not have to be stranded at sea in order to feel lost. Sometimes our loneliest moments take place in familiar surroundings amid close friends and family. Joe Kissack’s book The Fourth Fisherman takes us on parallel journeys of loss, despair and recovery. Kissack narrates his personal story of dizzying success as a Hollywood executive and his eventual descent into addiction and depression. At the same time, three Mexican fisherman struggle for months stranded at sea, surviving on a diet of sea turtle. The common thread in both stories is the faith that sustains Joe and the fisherman.

I related in some ways to both stories. I have been physically stranded and homeless as well as spiritually stranded, clinging to unimportant things. Sometimes a certain verse in the Bible will provide a way out, but it takes a leap of faith to reach for that lifeline. Kissack captures that scary transitional moment when he writes “I had to let go of the idea that I had to understand it all.”

The Fourth Fisherman held my attention from beginning to end. Kissack shares important life lessons as he weaves a suspenseful tale. I especially appreciated the attention given to each of the fishermen, their backgrounds and their stories. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants a new perspective on hope and recovery. Whether I face real physical danger or predatory sharks of the imagination, I will think of the stories in The Fourth Fisherman.

FTC disclaimer: I received my copy of The Fourth Fisherman for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing group through Blogging for Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review and have stated my own opinions in this review.

You can find out more about The Fourth FIsherman by Joe Kissack at the book website, and you can read Chapter One here.

10 Replies to “Book Review: The Fourth Fisherman by Joe Kissack”

  1. This sounds like an interesting book I’d like to read sometime. I’m currently in the middle of “The Light Between Oceans.” It’s an intriguing story of war and personal struggles, a story about a lighthouse keeper that is almost impossible to put down. Hope and recovery make for some interesting reading.

  2. Hello! This book sounds as an incredible journey of a leap of faith and trusting Someone greater than ourselves. A wonderful review you have given on faith, hope, and the ever entailing drama of our lives as we trust in Something far more powerful than ourselves. Excellent review and I think I will have to read this book.

Leave a Reply

