Five Minute Friday: Hands


Five Minute Friday

 

I’m happy to link up with Lisa Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday, where we write for five minutes — no editing or second guessing. This week’s prompt is hands. Here we go…

_____________________________

By this time in the afternoon, the hands begin to ache. It starts in the fingers and works its way through the palms, pounding with every key stroke. The hours go by faster than you’d think, and these hands are more grateful than it sounds, but they do ache. Days of typing, scrolling, clicking and then the same all over again.

But is the ache from the hundreds of keystrokes and clicks? Are these hands aching for their true work, the work that You created them for? Hands can serve, embrace, comfort and write verses that draw tears. You wait for these hands to reach out not only to You, but to Your people with love.

At first I keep my hands in my pockets, wondering if I can really reach these people. Then the heart speaks and the words flow from the heart as I reach for the pen and write the true words You have burned in my soul.

8 Replies to “Five Minute Friday: Hands”

  1. Such beautiful words. And I love these especially: At first I keep my hands in my pockets, wondering if I can really reach these people. Then the heart speaks and the words flow from the heart as I reach for the pen and write the true words You have burned in my soul.

    These words speak to the challenge of following Jesus, don’t they? How much easier, how much more comfortable, how much less ache we will experience if we keep our hands in our pockets and stay in our own comfortable pockets of routine.

    Thank you for encouraging me today with your words and your heart. God bless you and your writing pursuit. Thankful to have discovered your words through FMF!

  2. Hi there! It’s my first time visiting your place in bloggy land. I love it! You’ve made an inviting and comfortable place here. Really enjoyed reading your take on “hands”. Especially the last paragraph. Too many times I “keep my hands in my pockets” and don’t reach out with my words, deeds or hospitality.

Leave a Reply

