Compassion Bloggers: Confessions of a Rediscovered Kid at Heart


It’s always a happy occasion when I receive a letter from Joan, the child I sponsor through Compassion International.  Across continents, from her home in Uganda, Joan shares her hopes and prayers for her future. Her childlike enthusiasm is indeed contagious. Whether she’s sharing a drawing or asking for prayer for her studies (she wants to be a teacher), she reminds me of my own childhood and its sense of wonder.

This weekend, an early snowstorm here in Idaho gave me a chance to rediscover my inner child. When I was growing up in New Hampshire, I’d look forward to the first snow almost as much as Christmas. But later, as responsibilities took the front and center spot, I tended to see snowstorms as a nuisance at best and a cause for panic at worst.

We woke up Friday morning to see this outside our front door:

snowy street

After living in Texas for most of his life, my husband John saw snow for the first time in years. Although I grew up in New Hampshire, I moved to Texas nearly six years ago when we got married. Now that we are spending our first winter in Idaho, John’s childlike enthusiasm at the first snow put my fretful worrying to shame!

john in snow cropped

After a few minutes outside, the hushed street and clean smell of freshly fallen snow took me back to those first snows of my childhood. As I write this post, I am struck by the way God helps us revive treasured memories with all our senses.

He took a little child and had him stand among them. Taking him in his arms, he said to them,  “Whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me does not welcome me but the one who sent me.” Mark 9:36-37

DSC_1689

Maybe God wants me to welcome the little child that dwells in my own heart — the one that gazed at the streaks of sunlight on the snow and couldn’t wait to put on her boots and play outside!

Speaking of kids, you may want to check out Compassion Explorer Magazine, great for kids and kids at heart. It’s free, and full of stories, recipes and other projects.

Now let’s rediscover and reclaim the kid in each of our hearts!

9 thoughts on “Compassion Bloggers: Confessions of a Rediscovered Kid at Heart

  1. Here in Indiana, we had our first snow this weekend too–I was ecstatic and gleeful as I watched the first flakes fall from my table in Starbucks. My friends were less enthused 🙂 I’m so thankful for the fresh, new perspective I always receive when the first snow blankets my world! What fun to “rediscover” snow with your husband!

  2. We had our first snow here in Missouri this past weekend too! I love snow 🙂 How awesome that God used your husbands enthiaiasm to help you to put that worrying aside and find those memories you had as a child and enjoy the snow! I love it when he does things like that!

  3. I’m from Massachusetts but my husband is from Texas also! We are living in Florida and we had a little ice last year…my husband was so excited and admiring the beauty! I enjoyed your story in promoting the explorers magazine!! Which I love!!

  4. Our area is gorgeous in all seasons. Draped in snow and frost, it is indeed a winter wonderland. Add in the soft tones of a winter sunrise or sunset, and it is breathtaking. I don’t particularly enjoy driving on the bad roads, but the view…ah, a bit of heaven. And I agree, to view the world as a child is a blessing, rather than seeing only the negative. Good for you, Judith, for reveling in one of God’s many miracles.

Leave a Reply

