Thankful Thursday: Everyday Blessings


 

Thanks to Iris at Grace Alone for hosting Thankful Thursday this month. Join us!

Ephesians 1:16 “I do not cease to give thanks for you as I remember you in my prayers.”

For my new blog’s first Thankful Thursday, I am thinking about everyday blessings. While my husband and I were out for a drive yesterday, I noticed the first spring wildflowers along the roadside. Although the  summer weather here in South Texas can be brutally hot, the pinkish-purple blossoms reminded me that we get to enjoy a prolonged, early spring. And the bluebonnets will be appearing soon!

Bluebonnets from last year
Bluebonnets will bloom any day now!

I miss my friends in Flagstaff, Arizona. I miss our walks, our lunches, our shared trials. And I especially miss a certain favorite coffee shop! Well, I got tired of all that “missing”, and decided to order some ground coffee from my favorite Flagstaff roastery. The aroma is like an old friend, and I get to share some memories with my family at breakfast…my husband said to order  twice as much next time! I am thankful for the ability of taste and smell to transport us to cherished times and places.

I am grateful for my online friends. As a freelance writer, I spend most of my day at the computer. Writing is a solitary business, and my fellow writers and I are able to check in with each other–via the internet–throughout the day. We encourage and support each other, and even exchange constructive criticisms. My workday goes by so much faster with so many supportive friends.

Finally, I am blessed to have a husband who gives me the freedom to be the real me. He truly listens and encourages me to follow my life’s purpose, and to pursue my creative work. What could be better than that?

2 Replies to “Thankful Thursday: Everyday Blessings”

  1. Lovely post Judith! Heart-warming and loving. I am so proud of you and your accomplishments. Your journey of faith has proved fruitful and I admire you!

    Your Devoted Husband,
    John

Leave a comment