Thankful Thursday: Greater is He


Thankiful Thursday

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 (NKJV)

“You are of God, little children, and have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.” 1 John 4:4 (NKJV)

This week, I am thankful for timely counsel from family and a friend. Recently my husband and my mother–at separate times–pointed out that I spend way too much time apologizing. I apologize for dropping something, for forgetting something, for not hearing someone, for taking too long making a decision, etc.. Of course, I learned in Bible study over and over that these patterns of self-condemnation are not what God desires for us. But these lessons somehow got buried in the back of my mind over time.

A couple of days ago, a dear friend and mentor sent me an email containing the words of 1 John 4:4. The statement “He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world” replayed in my thoughts all afternoon. I recalled memorizing this verse in Bible study. It is easy to believe lies about ourselves, but the truth is that the Holy Spirit is within us and has already overcome the world and any spirit that seeks to steal our joy.

God has a plan for our hope, not for our despair. I am grateful that God placed wise and caring people in my life. But most of all, I am thankful that God has already won my battles…and yours.

Many thanks to Iris at Grace Alone for hosting Thankful Thursday this month. Join us!

5 Replies to “Thankful Thursday: Greater is He”

  1. Hi Judith,

    I can surely identify with your experience. I struggle with it from time to time too. It is indeed a very blessed truth and very comforting that the Holy Spirit is within us and has already overcome the world and any spirit that seeks to steal our joy. And God has already won the battle for us. We are more than conquerors through Him Who loves us!

    May God continue to bless your soul with His precious promises. Thank our Lord Jesus Christ that He is with us through all the changing scenes in life, He loves us dearly and His grace is sufficient for us. Take care and God bless you!

    Warm regards in Christ,
    Nancie

  2. Wonderful post!! I, am most grateful for the presence of God in my everyday life. He has blessed me with a truly devoted wife who is a woman of God, and a wise woman as well. Your post clearly pointed this reminder out to me.

    God is great and his plan is better than any we may conjure up.

    Very nice blog post Judith. Thank you.

    1. Thank you so much, John, Nancie, and Whidbey Woman for taking the time to read and comment on my blog. I am always encouraged when I receive comments from other bloggers. Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a comment